Closer to the edge

This week I again switched and  taught this class on Monday morning. I have to give props to people who complete early morning workouts 5 days a week. It is tough to get my legs moving on Monday mornings and it’s usually an afternoon workout for me. I usually push my workouts on the weekends making the early part of the week a struggle, including this week. When I finished this ride however, I was ready to go!

One of my goals recently has been to better apply my indoor cycling classes to outdoor type cycling — along with working on building endurance. We did some fun drills. I also tried something new and didn’t time drills with the music. I was nervous about how it would play out, but it actually went well with songs fading into one another. (I had songs on a 12 second fade so they weren’t timed exactly as I planned, but as long as there was a beat it was fine.)

<Warm Up>

Stage one: lactate shuttle (adapted from men’s fitness)

  • 4 min. 85-90 RPM, moderate to hard resistance, 75-80% effort
  • 2 min. recovery on flat road
  • 4 min. 75-90 RPM, hard resistance, 85-90% effort
  • 2 min. recovery on flat road
  • 4 min. 85-90 RPM, moderate to hard resistance, 75-80% effort
  • 2 min. recovery on flat road

Stage two: climbing pyramid

The climb has 7 stages. Each stage up to 4 has an increase in gear and time. Half of each stage will be spent out of the saddle, followed by the other half in the saddle.

  • 1 min, gear up to 2-3 above base, out of the saddle for 30 seconds, moderate effort
  • 2 min, gear up 2, out of saddle for 1 min, moderate effort
  • 3 min, gear up 2, out of saddle for 90 sec, hard effort
  • 4 min, gear up 2, out of saddle for 2 min, 85-90% effort
  • 3 min, gear down 2, out of saddle for 90 sec, hard effort
  • 2 min, gear down 2, out of saddle for 1 min, moderate effort
  • 1 min, gear down to 2, out of the saddle for 30 seconds, moderate effort
  • 2 min active recovery

Stage three: Alot-a Tabata

*To get through this, you might have to go over 50 minutes*

  • 4 min: 20 seconds on, 10 second rest; 8x (on- 2 above base, rest- base)
  • 1 min: active recovery at base
  • 4 min: 20 seconds on, 10 second rest; 8x (on- 4 above base, rest- base)

<Cool Down>

For me, cycling is about a good, challenging work out with good music. What do you look for in a cycling class? 

Leave a Reply

