New Heights

While I was running last night, I had one of those epiphany type moments. I’ve done a lot of moving around in my life. After setting roots down here in Lincoln almost 2 1/2 years ago, I was excited to be in one place to really pursue several goals. One of them was teaching fitness classes and trying to inspire others to reach their goals, but one of them wasn’t really running. I’ve always called myself a runner since days in high school track which was a love-hate, but really mostly hate, relationship. Shin splits were my constant battle and there wasn’t enough ice and ibuprofen to change that. I ran in college but it literally wasn’t until yesterday of all days that I realized just what a running high is. It may have taken me 28 years to find joy in running, but I found it. I say this because running is hard. It’s challenging. And some days really suck. But I make goals and work to reach them, and it’s rewarding, and I want to encourage anyone who is still searching for the “running high” to keep working at it. My next goal is a full marathon in September. I’m going to still keep up with classes and fight like crazy to reach this new goal. If any of you reading this have any advice as I pursue this next goal, I’m all ears. In the mean time, here’s what we did in cross training today šŸ™‚

2 groups: bags | bootcamp; 5 minutes at each station, rotate

Round 1:

Bags: 30 jabs, 30 hooks, 15 bag base tricep dips

Bootcamp: 10 stability ball hamstring curls, 30 thigh ball squeezes, 15 ball exchanges

Round 2:

Bags: 30 belly rippers, 30 front kicks, 5 walk out push ups

Bootcamp: 1 set suicide, 20 donkey kicks, 20 plank jacks

 

Group core <5 min>

 

Round 3:

Bags: 30 back jabs, 20 back kicks, 20 backward lunges

Bootcamp: 20 russian fan twist, 10 stability ball push ups, 10 baby arnolds

Round 4:

Bags: 30 jabs, 20 side kicks, 20 plank rows

Bootcamp: 1 set suicide, 20 walking lunges, 30 weighted jacks

Happy trails my friends – it’s almost Friday!

Leave a Reply

