Filthy Fifty Cross Train + recipe

Thursday’s cross training was a good one, and by good I mean it has left me sore. We modified the Filthy Fifty crossfit workout:

Warm up:  gym lap + 1 flight stair climb 5x

50 reps of each for time:

deadlifts

box jumps

kettlebell swings

knees to elbows (spider plank)

push press

wall balls

burpees

walking lunges (weighted)

back extensions (stability ball)

pull ups (TRX optional)

double unders (jump rope)

 

I don’t normally share recipes but for someone who workouts early in the morning, finding a pre-workout food that isn’t loaded with sugar and additives can be difficult. I find running on an empty stomach doable in the morning, but as soon as I start adding weights, I easily become light headed. I started making little energy balls about once a week recently, and I have to share because they’re healthy & easy to grab when you’re in a time crunch.

Put equal parts raw cashews and either pitted dates or dried cranberries, I usually do 2 cups of each, 2 tablespoons of chia seed, and 1/8-1/4 cup of dried shredded unsweetened coconut into a food processor. Blend well until you can make 1 1/2″ balls. Store in the refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

